genealogy

Sorting Saturday – ABC and 123


When I started recording my genealogy, I never thought that I would amass the numerous names that I currently have now.

Two things I learned after 40 years of research is:

  • Keep organized; or at least try to
  • And if you can’t keep organized, change your filing system until it works

My current system took over 30 years to perfect with the last revision being about ten years ago.

Before The System

Everything of importance was written down on bits of paper – some odd samples were:  paper towels and dinner napkins, cigarette package flaps, restaurant matchbook covers and coloured tissue paper. Paper everywhere!  Ask my mother, she’d find “my research bits” all over my room, shoved in my school pack, in my closet, under my bed, on and in my dresser. And she knew when I was researching; paper sheets would form arcing rows around me and my research binder in the middle of the floor.

Things haven’t changed too much since then.  Ask my wife, MiLady, she finds my notes all over the house, in and under my computer cabinet which holds my desktop, three thumb drives (portable sticks), an external backup drive, an old laptop and an old briefcase, then there’s the menagerie of frames upon two of the living room walls — and the 18 binders of various sizes in our walk-in bedroom closet (on my side) … oh, and the six bankers boxes in the basement.  I think that’s everything.

And that’s how I keep everybody sorted out in 18 binders – and that is just Mum’s paternal line!

Clear as mud, right?

Categories: genealogy

Tagged as:

1 reply »

  1. Welcome to the GeneaBloggers family. Hope you find the association fruitful; I sure do. I have found it most stimulating, especially some of the Daily Themes.

    May you keep sharing your ancestor stories!

    Dr. Bill 😉
    http://drbilltellsancestorstories.blogspot.com/
    Author of “13 Ways to Tell Your Ancestor Stories” and family saga novels:
    “Back to the Homeplace” and “The Homeplace Revisited”
    http://thehomeplaceseries.blogspot.com/
    http://www.examiner.com/x-53135-Springfield-Genealogy-Examiner
    http://www.examiner.com/x-58285-Ozarks-Cultural-Heritage-Examiner

    Like

Leave a Reply

