genealogy

FHWC 2013 Day 13: Black Christmas (Part I)


Grace HEMMINGWAY was my maternal grandmother.

Her parents were Esther Ann NEEDHAM and Hamer HEMINGWAY. They were married in Astley, Astley Parish, Lancashire, England 27JUL1901.

pg 201 issue401 NEEDHAM HEMMINGWAY 1901JL27

Her father’s name was Hamer, but so was his father. 

parentage GRACE

Hamer Snr had a brother named George, who was a collier (coal miner), who worked at the Corton Wood Colliery in Barnsley, (West Riding) Yorkshire, England.  Many of the HEMINGWAY men worked in the mines.

The only thing we know about George is that he was killed December 22nd 1882 in the mines, and was buried December 25th.  He was only 33 years old.

This information comes from a transcript I wrote 15years ago copied from a funeral card that has long since disappeared.

In Affectionate Remembrance of 

GEORGE HEMINGWAY

who was killed at Corton Wood Colliery, December 22nd 1882

aged 33 years

and was interred at Tankersley Church, December 25th 1882

Farewell dear wife, my life has past

May you and I unite at last;

Mourn not for me nor sorrow take

But love my  children  for my sake,

But since thou could no longer stay

To cheer us with they love;

We hope to meet with thee again

In yon bright world above.

FHWC2013JoinMe

In 1999, my UK friend Janet BROOKES, and her husband Tim, went to Tankersley parish to find George but could not locate his stone.

Sadly, I am under the impression that George never had one.

Leave a Reply

